Kims Book Shelf Journey

Heritage Makers is changing my life!!!

A very long day…. October 21, 2009

Filed under: Heritage Makers — kimyancy @ 9:39 pm

Today was a day I hope not to have many more soon.  I attended a memorial service for a friend I have worked with for over 11 years.  ast Thursday, her husband woke up to find she had pass during the night.  She was only 47 years old, She left behind a son, 27 years old and 5 1/2 grandchildren, (the one is due in about 4 months). 

The funeral hall was packed with friends and family from all over.  Old friends were there from High School, current friends were there from work and other connections.  It was a very hard service.  As I was sitting there thinking how much I knew of her and her life.  It was difficult to comprehend to reality of it.  All I could think about is:  all of the stories that now won’t be told, a library is gone, with no hope of getting any of them back.  She had  a very interesting life, yet in the end, I believe she was the happiest she had ever been, with being married to her best friend.  I still don’t think her husband really understand, she is gone.  She will not answer the phone when he can’t find something.  LOL!!  One of the best parts was seeing her husband’s ex-wife stand and speak of her as a best friend.  That is a true example of forgiveness and moving on, being happy for someone, when you know it didn’t work with you.  Hopefully, that makes sense.  I was truly amazing.  

Her grandchildren sat there, all under the age of 7, not  realizing Grandma is gone forever.  A couple of them wrote simply, yet loving, letters to her, telling her to have a fun time in Heaven.  It was PRECIOUS!!!  I know, if she could, she would write each one of them a book for them, expressing her love to them, telling each of them how much and how unique they were.

In the reality of today, I realize that I need to compile the things I love about my boys into a book for them to cherish for years to come.  The things I love about them today, will change in future, however, they need to know at every stage of their life, they are and were loved. 

I am currently working with a client helping him compile and write a story of my parents that meet during the WWII and span across to continents.  It is a masterpiece!!  It brings such joy to help people get their stories and photos together in a book.   

If you know of anyone who would like to do a book, telling them how much they are loved, I would be glad to help  you. 

kim@kimsbookshelf.com

 

Leave a Reply

